Book Details
Author: Daniel Lipetz
Foreword: Parnelli Jones
Format: Hardcover, 9” by 11”, 256 pages
Photos: 232 black-and-white and 74 color
Price: $250.00
Trans-Am Era: The Publisher's Edition Trans-Am Era: The Publisher's Edition
Limited to 150 numbered copies, the Publisher's Edition of Trans-Am Era: The Golden Years in Photographs, 1966-1972 is autographed by four great drivers and two of the top team leaders from the original Trans-Am series: George Follmer, Dan Gurney, Parnelli Jones, Bud Moore, Roger Penske and Sam Posey. It is also signed by the author and the publisher, features a special cover, and includes an additional 32 pages of text and photographs.

Highlights from each signer's Trans-Am careers are described below, along with sample images from the extra pages added at the end of the book.
read more >
In Stock
Loading Image...
Click Page to Enlarge

In 1972 George Follmer captured the Trans-Am Drivers' Championship driving an AMC Javelin for the Roy Woods team. From 1969 through 1971 he drove Ford Boss 302 Mustangs for the Bud Moore team, scoring a total of five Trans-Am victories.

With wins in Formula One and at Le Mans and Sebring, Dan Gurney was one of the world's top drivers when he entered the Trans-Am in 1967. That year he took the first win for a Mercury Cougar in the closest-ever Trans-Am finish at the Green Valley 300. In 1968 and 1969 Gurney drove Ford Mustangs for the Shelby team, and in 1970 he fielded and drove Plymouth 'Cudas for his own AAR team.

Driving a Bud Moore Boss 302 Mustang, Parnelli Jones won five Trans-Am events in 1970, enough to secure the Manufacturers' Championship for Ford. He was also that year's unofficial Drivers' Champion, a title that would not be formally established until the following season.

Cars prepared by Bud Moore won 14 Trans-Am races and earned at least 3 victories in every season they competed. After entering the series in 1967 racing Mercury Cougars, Moore fielded Ford Boss 302 Mustangs from 1969 through 1971. Driven by George Follmer and Parnelli Jones, they delivered the Manufacturers' Championship to Ford in the series' peak season in 1970.

Roger Penske was the Trans-Am series' most successful entrant, winning 31 races between 1967 and 1971. Penske and his lead driver Mark Donohue initially raced Z28 Camaros, bringing Manufacturers' Championships to Chevrolet in 1968 and 1969. After switching to AMC Javelins in 1970, Penske and Donohue repeated the feat in 1971, this time winning both the Manufacturers' and Drivers' titles.

Sam Posey raced in all seven seasons of the original Trans-Am series, starting in the under-2.0 liter class. In 1966 he took the season's penultimate round at Green Valley aboard an Alfa Romeo GTA, and in 1967 he won at Sebring in a Porsche 911. In 1969 Posey won the Lime Rock Trans-Am driving an over 2.0 liter Shelby Racing Boss 302 Mustang, becoming one of a handful of drivers with victories in both groups. In 1970 he drove Dodge Challengers for the Autodynamics team.
May we also suggest
If this title interests you, here some others that you might like: