Book Details
Author: Michael Argetsinger
Foreword: Mario Andretti
Format: Hardcover, 9” x 11”, 160 pages
Photos: 91 black-and-white and 150 color photographs
ISBN: 978-1-935007-14-2
Price: $49.95
Formula One at Watkins Glen Formula One at Watkins Glen
20 Years Of The United States Grand Prix, 1961-1980

Michael Argetsinger, 1944-2015
Please see an appreciation of our late friend and author here.

Formula One at Watkins Glen presents a vivid and often intimate account of the 20-year period that the United States Grand Prix was held at the classic upstate New York track. Author Michael Argetsinger was a young man when his parents, Cameron and Jean, first brought Formula One to Watkins Glen, and he grew up working with racing as the family business. Now, on the 50th anniversary of F1 at the Glen, he brings us his firsthand perspective on this unforgettable era.

Spectacular photographs combine with Argetsinger’s detailed commentary to capture the distinctive character of each year’s event. The story begins with rare images of the Formula Libre races from 1958 through 1960 that featured a sprinkling of top European drivers, Formula One cars, and sports cars, and set the stage for Watkins Glen’s first world championship grand prix. Stirling Moss, Phil Hill, Dan Gurney, Jack Brabham, Joakim Bonnier, Roy Salvadori, and Olivier Gendebien were the drivers who made early impressions and ultimately helped champion Watkins Glen as the site of the USGP.
read more >
In Stock
Also see our Autographed special “Publisher’s edition”  $195.00
Loading Image...
Click Page to Enlarge

The names associated with the Glen are legend. Team Lotus captured its first world championship grand prix when Innes Ireland won the inaugural race in 1961. Jim Clark won the race three times for Team Lotus, and owner/engineer Colin Chapman also drank the champagne at Watkins Glen with drivers Jochen Rindt, Emerson Fittipaldi, and Ronnie Peterson. Graham Hill won the race three years running for BRM, and Jackie Stewart was twice victorious. James Hunt also won twice—the first time for McLaren in his world championship year. Carlos Reutemann was another two-time winner, and additional Watkins Glen victories went to François Cevert, Niki Lauda, Gilles Villeneuve, and Alan Jones.

This richly illustrated book presents dramatic race action, arresting portraits of key drivers and team leaders, and carefully researched facts that explain the forces that brought true Grand Prix racing to Watkins Glen, as well as the reasons leading to its eventual demise. A remarkable journey awaits you in these pages.

All of the proceeds from this book—100% of the purchase price—go to the benefit of the International Motor Racing Research Center at Watkins Glen.
May we also suggest
If this title interests you, here some others that you might like: